Embassy of Ukraine in the Kingdom of the Netherlands

Kyiv 10:26

Autonomous Republic of Crimea

The territory of Crimean Autonomous Republic is 26,1 thousand square km. The Crimea borders with Kherson and Zaporizhzhya regions of Ukraine and with Krasnodar Region of the Russian Federation. The State frontier length is 821 km and it can be crossed in nine check points. Crimean Autonomous Republic is divided into 14 districts by administrative structure. The number of population of the Crimea is 2 018 400 people, including 1 265 900 people live in cities and 752 500 people in rural locality.


The land area of the Autonomous Republic of Crimea and Sevastopol, their internal waters are defined under the Law of Ukraine "On the rights and freedoms of citizens and legal regime in the temporarily occupied territory of Ukraine" as temporarily occupied territories as a result of military aggression of the Russian Federation. The starting date of the temporary occupation is 20 February 2014.

Ukraine regions

Information sheet